This place owes its name to an entrenchment (gone today) built in the 16C to fight against the Spanish troops. Since 1950, 17 and 18C buildings from various places (including Zaandam) have been rebuilt here thus making it a sort of outdoor museum. The village is inhabited and its mills are operational. It is built in a ribbon around a dyke ( Kalverringdijk ). Most of the houses are wooden with gables in varied shapes.