Elevador de Santa Justa

Recommended
The lift was built in 1901 by Raul Mesnier de Ponsard, a Portuguese engineer of French origin who was influenced by Gustave Eiffel. Prior to the 1988 fire, it provided direct access to the Chiado quarter. Long closed for repairs, it has now reopened. From the café on the upper platform (32m above street level), there is a good view over the Rossio and Baixa.

Useful information

Address : 

Rua Aurea

Opening hours

[Apr-Oct: 7am-11pm; rest of year: 7am-10pm]

Nearby tourist attractions

Rua do Carmo and Rua Garrett
Rua do Carmo and Rua Garrett
These elegant streets are lined with old
0:15
Church do Carmo (Archeology Museum)
Church do Carmo (Archeology Museum)
Today the ruins of the Gothic church,
1:30
Rua do Ouro (or Áurea)
Rua do Ouro (or Áurea)
The 'street of gold' the gold trading
0:15
Museum of the Orient
Museum of the Orient
Opened in 2008 in the Alcântara docks,
3:00
Núcleo Arqueológico da Rua dos Correeiros
Núcleo Arqueológico da Rua dos Correeiros
Roman remains were discovered on this
0:30
Rossio
Rossio
Praça Dom Pedro IV, was once the setting
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Rua do Carmo and Rua Garrett
Rua do Carmo and Rua Garrett
These elegant streets are lined with old
0:15
Rua do Ouro (or Áurea)
Rua do Ouro (or Áurea)
The 'street of gold' the gold trading
0:15
Núcleo Arqueológico da Rua dos Correeiros
Núcleo Arqueológico da Rua dos Correeiros
Roman remains were discovered on this
0:30
See all