Museum

Interesting
This museum in the majestic old 18C Episcopal palace has an attractive collection of shields on the ground floor which used to adorn the facades of noble houses. On the first floor, two collections merit special attention: the five paintings on wood (start of the 16C) by Vasco Fernandes, and six Brussels tapestries from the 16C. On this floor you can also see two Baroque chapels in sculpted and gilded wood.

Useful information

Address : 

Largo de Camões

Price:

3 €

Opening hours

summer: daily except Mon 10am-6pm

Nearby tourist attractions

Of the early Romanesque cathedral (12C)
0:15
Capela do Desterro
Capela do Desterro
This chapel, built in 1640, is decorated
0:15
Sanctuary of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios
Sanctuary of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios
From the foot of the staircase which
0:15
Chapel of São Pedro de Balsemão
Chapel of São Pedro de Balsemão
The 17C facade hides the sanctuary which
0:15
Miradouro da Boa Vista
Miradouro da Boa Vista
This belvedere looks over the Douro and
0:30
Vinho Verde
Vinho Verde
The lower valley of the Douro, near to
4:00
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Of the early Romanesque cathedral (12C)
0:15
Capela do Desterro
Capela do Desterro
This chapel, built in 1640, is decorated
0:15
Sanctuary of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios
Sanctuary of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios
From the foot of the staircase which
0:15
See all