With its scarred stone walls that withstood a Turkish siege for two weeks in 1821, the monastery resembles a fortress. In its "white and wood" inner courtyard, the narrow church rebuilt in 1830 blends Wallachian, Moldavian and Classical elements. Inside is a 17C icon brought from Cyprus by Vasile Lupu.
Nearby tourist attractions
Cats sun themselves on the copper roof
Other ideas « Patrimony »