Bank Bridge

Interesting
This charming little bridge, affording a pretty view of the canal and the Church of Our Saviour on Spilled Blood, was built in 1826 by an engineer named Tretter. It was one of the first metallic suspension bridges in the world. It owes its name, Bank Bridge, to the establishment next door, the Assignats Bank, built in the late 18C after a design by Giacomo Quarenghi. The bridge, which guards access to the bank, is adorned with statues of winged griffons, the guardians of gold in Greek mythology.

Useful information

Nearby tourist attractions

Kirov Apartment-Museum
Kirov Apartment-Museum
Was Stalin irked by the popularity of
90 minutes
Mariinsky Theatre
Mariinsky Theatre
Vaslav Nijinsky, Rudolf Nureyev, Feodor
30 minutes
Peter and Paul Fortress: Engineers' House
Peter and Paul Fortress: Engineers' House
Built in 1749 for the engineers in
90 minutes
Panteleimon Bridge
Panteleimon Bridge
Panteleimon Bridge, which owes its name
30 minutes
Stieglitz Museum
Stieglitz Museum
Established in a wonderfully eclectic
120 minutes
Beloselsky-Belozersky Palace
Beloselsky-Belozersky Palace
This magnificent neo-Baroque palace on
60 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Mariinsky Theatre
Mariinsky Theatre
Vaslav Nijinsky, Rudolf Nureyev, Feodor
30 minutes
Panteleimon Bridge
Panteleimon Bridge
Panteleimon Bridge, which owes its name
30 minutes
Beloselsky-Belozersky Palace
Beloselsky-Belozersky Palace
This magnificent neo-Baroque palace on
60 minutes
See all