Former monastery of San Marcos

Recommended
The mother house of the Knights of the Order of Saint James (soldier-monks who protected pilgrims along the route to Santiago de Compostela) was built here in the 12C, three centuries before Ferdinand decided to build a magnificent monastery worthy of the power and wealth acquired by knights during the Reconquest. The 100m-long façade has two storeys of niches and windows. A parador occupies part of the monastery nowadays.

Useful information

Address : 

pl. de San Marcos

Nearby tourist attractions

Museo Provincial de León
Museo Provincial de León
Arranged on three floors, León's
2:00
Saint Isidore
Saint Isidore
This basilica (1063), dedicated to
0:30
Royal Pantheon of the collegiate church of San Isidoro
Royal Pantheon of the collegiate church of San Isidoro
Twenty-five kings and queens of León and
1:00
Treasury of the Collegiate Church of San Isidoro
Treasury of the Collegiate Church of San Isidoro
This ecclesiastical museum's collection
3:00
Gate of León Castle
Gate of León Castle
Any discovery of León begins with its
1:00
León cathedral
León cathedral
Built between the mid-13C and late-14C,
1:00
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Saint Isidore
Saint Isidore
This basilica (1063), dedicated to
0:30
Royal Pantheon of the collegiate church of San Isidoro
Royal Pantheon of the collegiate church of San Isidoro
Twenty-five kings and queens of León and
1:00
Gate of León Castle
Gate of León Castle
Any discovery of León begins with its
1:00
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Museo Provincial de León
Museo Provincial de León
Arranged on three floors, León's
2:00
Saint Isidore
Saint Isidore
This basilica (1063), dedicated to
0:30
Royal Pantheon of the collegiate church of San Isidoro
Royal Pantheon of the collegiate church of San Isidoro
Twenty-five kings and queens of León and
1:00
See all