Founded in 515 by the King of Burgundy, Sigismond, this Abbey of St Maurice was created in the name of 3C Christian martyrs. The current church was restored in 1949 and dates back to the 17C, although the stone belltower is from the 11C and the steeple from the 13C. The simple nave is vaulted and lit by high windows. The altar is decorated with a mosaic of Maurice Denis.
Phone:+41 24 486 04 04
10am-5.30pm, weekends 1.30pm-5.30pm - CHF14 (children CHF8) combo ticket including Martolet excavation site and St. Maurice tomb
Nearby tourist attractions
Other ideas « Patrimony »