The Circus

Highly recommended
Connected to Royal Crescent by Brock Street (built by John Wood the Younger in 1767), the Circus was one of Wood the Elder's first projects although not built until 1754. It consists of a circle of identical houses, pierced by three equidistant access roads. The houses of pale Bath stone, decorated with coupled columns, have three storeys rising to a frieze and acorn-topped balustrade.

Useful information

Adresse : 

The Circus

Nearby tourist attractions

Assembly Rooms
Assembly Rooms
These elegant rooms were built in 1769
30 minutes
Fashion Museum
Fashion Museum
Situated in the Assembly Rooms basement,
120 minutes
Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent
This famous symbol of classical
60 minutes
Gay Street
Gay Street
Gay Street links the Circus to Queen
15 minutes
Pulteney Bridge
Pulteney Bridge
The bridge, built in 1769-1774 and
30 minutes
Pump Room
Pump Room
The present Pump Room, built in 1789
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Assembly Rooms
Assembly Rooms
These elegant rooms were built in 1769
30 minutes
Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent
This famous symbol of classical
60 minutes
Gay Street
Gay Street
Gay Street links the Circus to Queen
15 minutes
See all