St Michael's Mount
This small island, inhabited since the 4C BC, bears the same name as its better known counterpart in Normandy, to which it was affiliated from the 12C to the 15C. According to legend the archangel Michael was sighted on the rock, making the island a place of pilgrimage from the late 5C. The monastery was transformed into a stronghold from the 15C, before it became a family residence when it was bought by John St Aubyn in 1647. The castle features a hybrid of 14C-19C styles. The village at its feet is a hive of activity in the busy summer season.
castle: Jul-Aug: 10.30am-5.30pm; Apr-Oct: 10.30am-5pm - closed Sat, last admission 45min before closing; gardens: Jul-Aug: Thu-Fri 10.30am-5.30pm; May-Jun: daily except weekends 10.30am-5pm; Sep: Thu-Fri 10.30am-5pm