Established by William II in 1092, the castle served to keep back Scots raiders. The Norman keep was altered in Tudor times to accommodate cannon to replace archers. The shell of the medieval hall now houses the King's Own Royal Border Regiment Museum. All that remains of the tower where Mary Queen of Scots was held is the staircase. A feature of the outer ward is the half-moon battery built in the 1540s for the deployment of cannon.
Address :Castle Way
Apr-Sep: 9.30am-5pm; Oct: 10am-4pm; Nov-Mar: weekends 10am-4pm
Other ideas « Patrimony »