St Mary's Church
Founded c. 1120, St Mary's was soon adopted by the Guilds. A tower was added in 1524. The tiny Chapel of St Michael, with its ingenious spiral staircase dates from the same period as the Percy tomb in the Minster. 140 carvings of medieval musical instruments decorate the Minister and St Mary's. The extraordinary chancel ceiling, painted in 1445, is a pictoral record of the kings of England.
Address :North Bar Within, HU17 Beverley
Apr-Sep: 10am-4.30pm; rest of year: 9.30am-4pm - closed weekends