Blackfriars

Blackfriars is derived from the site of the Dominican monastery that owed its name (Black Friars) to the loose black habit worn by the monks. The monastery was dissolved in 1583 and abandoned after the construction of a theatre in 1576. Thirty years later, James Burbage founded, also inside the cloister, another theatre that was destroyed in 1655, where the later works of Shakespeare as well as plays by Beaumont and Fletcher were presented.

Useful information

Adresse : 

Puddle Dock

Nearby tourist attractions

St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
Destroyed by the Great fire, rebuilt,
15 minutes
Printing House Square
Printing House Square
This square acquired its name after the
15 minutes
Unilever House
Unilever House
With its ground floor with rustic bosses
15 minutes
St Benet's Welsh Church
St Benet's Welsh Church
At the time of the Great Fire, the six
15 minutes
St Martin Within Ludgate
St Martin Within Ludgate
The original church is believed to have
15 minutes
College of Arms
College of Arms
The College of heralds has dealt with
15 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
Destroyed by the Great fire, rebuilt,
15 minutes
Printing House Square
Printing House Square
This square acquired its name after the
15 minutes
Unilever House
Unilever House
With its ground floor with rustic bosses
15 minutes
See all