Printing House Square

This square acquired its name after the great fire - the king's printer settled there in order to publish acts and decrees and since 1666, the London Gazette. In 1784, John Walter began the year publishing the Daily Universal Register which became The Times on the 1st January 1788. In 1964, a new building made of schist and glass was built to house the paper's offices which were transferred to Gray's Inn Road in 1974 and then to Wapping in 1986.

Useful information

Address : 

sq. Printing House

Nearby tourist attractions

Blackfriars
Blackfriars
Blackfriars is derived from the site of
0:30
St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
Destroyed by the Great fire, rebuilt,
0:15
Unilever House
Unilever House
With its ground floor with rustic bosses
0:15
St Martin Within Ludgate
St Martin Within Ludgate
The original church is believed to have
0:15
St Benet's Welsh Church
St Benet's Welsh Church
At the time of the Great Fire, the six
0:15
College of Arms
College of Arms
The College of heralds has dealt with
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Blackfriars
Blackfriars
Blackfriars is derived from the site of
0:30
St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
St Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe
Destroyed by the Great fire, rebuilt,
0:15
Unilever House
Unilever House
With its ground floor with rustic bosses
0:15
See all