All-Hallows-by-the-Tower Church

Also called All Hallows Barking, All Saints' Church, was founded by a Saxon king (680) on the site of a 2C Roman house. A bronze spire was placed on top of it in 1958, the only one in the City which is not the work of Wren. The church, rebuilt in 1957, has inside it a magnificent baptismal font cover in lemon wood, attributed to Grinling Gibbons, and 18 funerary plaques dating from 1389 to 1591.

Useful information

Address : 

Byward Street

Phone:

+44 20 7481 2928

Opening hours

[8am-6pm, Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 10am-1pm (except during services) - organ recital: Thu 1.10pm]

Nearby tourist attractions

All Hallows London Wall
All Hallows London Wall
This Church which rests on the interior
0:15
Trinity Square Gardens
Trinity Square Gardens
A stone slab marks the site of the
0:30
St Olave's Church
St Olave's Church
Built in the 15C on a 13C crypt, it
0:15
St Dunstan-in-the-East
St Dunstan-in-the-East
Of the Church that was rebuilt in 1821,
0:15
Custom House
Custom House
Built between 1813 and 1817, the Customs
0:15
St Thomas's Tower and Traitors' Gate
St Thomas's Tower and Traitors' Gate
Saint Thomas's Tower (13C) was the main
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

All Hallows London Wall
All Hallows London Wall
This Church which rests on the interior
0:15
St Olave's Church
St Olave's Church
Built in the 15C on a 13C crypt, it
0:15
St Dunstan-in-the-East
St Dunstan-in-the-East
Of the Church that was rebuilt in 1821,
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

All Hallows London Wall
All Hallows London Wall
This Church which rests on the interior
0:15
St Olave's Church
St Olave's Church
Built in the 15C on a 13C crypt, it
0:15
St Dunstan-in-the-East
St Dunstan-in-the-East
Of the Church that was rebuilt in 1821,
0:15
See all