Robert of Clifford fortified it in the early 14C. The fine Conduit Court was built by the 10th count but the current castle owes much to the restoration undertaken by Lady Anne Clifford (1589-1676) after the ravages of the civil war. She added a parapet carrying the Clifford motto Henceforth, above the main porch.
Address :High, BD23 1AQ Skipton
Price:7.30 £ (-16 years old 4.50 £)
Mar-Sep: 10am-6pm (Sun noon-6pm); Oct-Feb: 10am-4pm (last admission) - closed 25 Dec
Other ideas « Patrimony »