Restored in the 14C, the castle was converted by Thomas Telford in 1787 into a home for Sir William Poultney, MP for Shrewsbury from 1776-1805. All that has survived of Telford's transformation is the Mayor's Parlour since the building became the Council Chambers in 1926. The building now houses the Shropshire Regimental Museum.
Adresse :Castle Street
Jun-Aug: 10.30am-5pm, Sun 10.30am-4pm; mid Feb-end May and early Sep-24 Dec: daily except Sun (except Easter Sun) 10.30am-4pm - closed Thu and 25 Dec-mid Feb
Nearby tourist attractions
Other ideas « Patrimony »