Yeovil The Essential
Archaeological finds suggest that this site was already occupied in the Bronze Age. Yeovil, a major leather and glove centre since the 14C, was later known for its flax. In 1853, the opening of the railway link with Taunton boosted the town's activity. Yeovil's population increased and the majority of the buildings seen today date from the 19C and 20C. There are however a few Georgian houses and old inns still standing, mainly in Princess Street, Silver Street and on the High Street.
Excavations have provided evidence of