The site is spectacular: perched on a spur overlooking crevasses with rushing burns. Originally known as Castle Gloom, it stands out against the Ochil hills, dominating the valley and town. The estate came to the Campbell family via marriage; the castle was built by Colin Campbell, 1st Earl of Argyll (d 1493) and then became the residence of the Campbells because it was conveniently near the royal residences.
Address :rd. Castle
Phone:+44 1259 742408
Price:5 £ (children 3 £)
Apr-Sep: 9.30am-5.30pm; Oct: 9.30am-4.30pm; rest of year: daily except Thu and Fri 9.30am-4.30pm (last admission 30min before closing) - closed 25-26 Dec