This imposing building is now a mixed boarding school. Its construction was financed by a legacy from John McNabb (1732-1802), a local man who made a fortune as a London shipowner. In 1818, William Playfair drew the plans for this Grecian style building with a colonnaded portico, capital and wings standing slightly forward, supported by twin pillars.
Phone:+44 1259 742511
[closed 25 Dec]