Sweetheart Abbey

Interesting
The beauty and charm of the ruins of Sweetheart come from the colourful contrast between the warm red sandstone and the green lawns. Founded in 1273 by Dervorgilla, wife of John Balliol, Sweetheart was the last Cistercian foundation in Scotland. The buildings are surrounded by a wall that initially had two entrances. The main buildings having disappeared, the major interest here is the church which has stood the test of time.

Useful information

Adresse : 

st. Main

Phone:

+44 1387 850397

Price:

4 £ (children 2.40 £)

Opening hours

Apr-Sep: 9.30am-5.30pm; Oct: 9.30am-4.30pm; rest of year: daily except Thu and Fri 9.30am-4.30pm (last admission 30min before closing) - closed 1-2 Jan and 25-26 Dec

Nearby tourist attractions

New Abbey Corn Mill
New Abbey Corn Mill
This 18C whitewashed building produced
Caerlaverock Castle
Caerlaverock Castle
Protected by moats and earth ramparts,
60 minutes
Dumfries Museum
Dumfries Museum
The museum has sections illustrating
60 minutes
Burns Mausoleum
Burns Mausoleum
On the right, behind the sandstone
15 minutes
Robert Burns' House
Robert Burns' House
Burns spent the last few years of his
30 minutes
Robert Burns Centre
Robert Burns Centre
The centre is located in a restored, 18C
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

New Abbey Corn Mill
New Abbey Corn Mill
This 18C whitewashed building produced
Caerlaverock Castle
Caerlaverock Castle
Protected by moats and earth ramparts,
60 minutes
Burns Mausoleum
Burns Mausoleum
On the right, behind the sandstone
15 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Caerlaverock Castle
Caerlaverock Castle
Protected by moats and earth ramparts,
60 minutes
Dumfries Museum
Dumfries Museum
The museum has sections illustrating
60 minutes
Burns Mausoleum
Burns Mausoleum
On the right, behind the sandstone
15 minutes
See all