King James VI Hospital

James 1 founded the only Carthusian monastery in Scotland in 1429; he and his wife, Jane Beaufort, were buried here as well as Margaret Tudor, the wife of James IV. Destroyed in 1559, the monastery was replaced by a hospital founded by James VI in 1587. The four-storey building is in the shape of a letter H and has now been turned into flats. The façade looking onto Hospital Street has an unusual dome which was taken from Nairne House.

Useful information

Address : 

st. Hospital

Nearby tourist attractions

Lower City Mills
Lower City Mills
This fine old industrial complex
0:15
St John's Kirk
St John's Kirk
Founded in the 12C, this 15C church with
0:15
Perth's Georgian streets
Perth's Georgian streets
On completion of the elegant Perth
1:00
Museum and Art Gallery
Museum and Art Gallery
With its distinctive dome and portico,
1:30
Tay Street
Tay Street
The colonnade façade of Sheriff Court
0:15
Water Works and Fergusson Gallery
Water Works and Fergusson Gallery
This handsome circular building with an
1:00
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Lower City Mills
Lower City Mills
This fine old industrial complex
0:15
St John's Kirk
St John's Kirk
Founded in the 12C, this 15C church with
0:15
Perth's Georgian streets
Perth's Georgian streets
On completion of the elegant Perth
1:00
See all