On the south bank of the Tweed, 10 km south-east of Peebles, the white mass of Traquair rises above the greenery. A treasure trove of jewels, relics, traditions and legends illustrates the long history of this family. It was first a 12C hunting house, then an English fortified house, which became Scottish again. The fortified tower was only turned into a castle in the 16-17C. James Stuart inherited it in 1491, and the current owners are his direct descendants.
Address :B 709, EH44 6PW Innerleithen
Phone:+44 1896 830323
Price:7.60 £ (children 4.10 £)
[Jun-Aug: 10.30am-5pm; Apr-May and Sep: 11am-5pm; Oct: 11am-4pm; Nov: weekends 11am-3pm (last admission 1hr before closing) - gardens only: £4 (children £2.50)]