Plas Newydd, once a humble cottage, was transformed in 1780 into the black and white building it is today by two eccentric ladies who arrived from Ireland. They caused considerable comment at the time but entertained a constant stream of distinguished visitors at their home. Both ladies are buried in the nearby St Collen's Church.
[Easter-end Oct: 10am-5pm - closed Mon and Tue]
Nearby tourist attractions