Newtownards The Essential
This modern and busy market town is set about 800m inland from Strangford Lough's northern shore. The handsome town hall, a former market building, was constructed of local Scrabo stone in 1765. In Court Street on the south side of town are the remains of the 13C priory founded by Walter de Burgh. Also built of Scrabo stone, it contains the tombs of the marquesses of Londonderry. The tower dates from the 17C.
More than a simple aquarium, Exploris
The ruins of a Cistercian foundation
The ruins of Sketrick Castle stand on