Countryside Centre

A dam built in 19587 on the Isle of Hare separated the sea from the Quoile Estuary, once under the influence of the tides. The last kilometres of the river have been turned into a freshwater lake with flood barriers. This 200 ha area is now a natural reserve with wood and marshlands, populated by various species of birds and game.

Useful information

Address : 

Quay Rd 5

Phone:

+44 28 4461 5520

Opening hours

Apr-Aug: 11am-5pm; rest of year: weekends 1pm-5pm - no charge.

Nearby tourist attractions

Mound of Down
Mound of Down
A large mound of earth dating back to
0:15
Southwell Foundation
Southwell Foundation
The Southwell Foundation, which includes
0:15
Inch Abbey
Inch Abbey
The ruins of this abbey stand on a
0:15
English Street
English Street
Opposite Down Civic Arts Centre, the
0:15
Down County Museum
Down County Museum
When the new prison was built in 1803,
1:00
Down Cathedral
Down Cathedral
Nothing remains of the monastery that
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Nature »

Delamont Country Park
Delamont Country Park
The walled garden here is planted with
4:00
See all