Inch Abbey

The ruins of this abbey stand on a charming spot that was once an island in the centre of the marshes on the northern banks of the Quoile. It was reached via a dyke, that is now the foundations of the road. Most of the monastery wall is covered in grass. The establishment, which was linked to the Cistercian abbey of Furness in Lancashire, was founded in around 1180 by Jean de Courcy, to make up for the destruction of Erenagh, to the south of Downpatrick.

Useful information

Address : 

A7

Nearby tourist attractions

Mound of Down
Mound of Down
A large mound of earth dating back to
0:15
Down Cathedral
Down Cathedral
Nothing remains of the monastery that
0:30
Down County Museum
Down County Museum
When the new prison was built in 1803,
1:00
English Street
English Street
Opposite Down Civic Arts Centre, the
0:15
Southwell Foundation
Southwell Foundation
The Southwell Foundation, which includes
0:15
Countryside Centre
Countryside Centre
A dam built in 19587 on the Isle of Hare
4:00
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Mound of Down
Mound of Down
A large mound of earth dating back to
0:15
Down Cathedral
Down Cathedral
Nothing remains of the monastery that
0:30
English Street
English Street
Opposite Down Civic Arts Centre, the
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Down Cathedral
Down Cathedral
Nothing remains of the monastery that
0:30
Down County Museum
Down County Museum
When the new prison was built in 1803,
1:00
Southwell Foundation
Southwell Foundation
The Southwell Foundation, which includes
0:15
See all