Killyleagh The Essential
Interesting
Killyleagh is an attractive sailing centre on the loch's western shore. It is dominated by its turreted castle, remodelled by Charles Lanyon in 1850, and its two round towers (13C and 17C). The original castle was erected by John de Courcy and later belonged to the O'Neills prior to being destroyed by General Monk in 1648, and in turn rebuilt by the Hamiltons, Earls of Clanbrassil and Viscounts Clandeboye.