The castle is a perfect example of a fortified "Plantation" house. Built by sir John Hume, the Early of Berwick in 1613, it was later taken and abandoned in 1641. The partly cobbled enclosure has fortified walls and corner towers used as living quarters which have musket loop-holes. Inside the enclosure is a garden. The building has three floors. The castle turrets can best be appreciated by walking around the outside of the castle.
Phone:+44 28 6862 1588
Price:free of charge
Easter-end Sep: 10am-6pm - no charge.