Old Custom House and Tower

In 1620, Sir James Hamilton received permission to develop Bangor's inlets into a harbour. In 1637, with financial assistance from the Crown, he had a customs house built (now the Tourist Office) in imposing Scots Baronial style with watchtowers, crow-stepped gable and bartizan.

Useful information

Address : 

Quay Street 34

Nearby tourist attractions

North Down Heritage Centre
North Down Heritage Centre
The heritage centre is located in a
1:00
Crawfordsburn Country Park
Crawfordsburn Country Park
This local park owes its name to the
0:15
Somme Heritage Centre
Somme Heritage Centre
This heritage centre devoted to the
1:00
Norman Mound
Norman Mound
The Norman mound near the banks was
0:15
Ulster Folk and Transport Museum
Ulster Folk and Transport Museum
Set in the grounds of Cultra Manor, this
2:00
Ballycopeland Windmill
Ballycopeland Windmill
The windmill is not open to the public
1:00
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

North Down Heritage Centre
North Down Heritage Centre
The heritage centre is located in a
1:00
Somme Heritage Centre
Somme Heritage Centre
This heritage centre devoted to the
1:00
Ulster Folk and Transport Museum
Ulster Folk and Transport Museum
Set in the grounds of Cultra Manor, this
2:00
See all