Just north of a row of restored Victorian houses stands this large and elegant residence, completely surrounded by a veranda. Constructed in 1834 by John Harris, a retired Royal Navy captain, the house was for many years a social and cultural centre in 19C Southern Ontario. Its furnishings reflect a refined way of life at a time when most pioneer settlers were living in log cabins. Owned by four generations of the Harris family up until 1960, the house was bequeathed to London, Ontario. The library and drawing room are particularly noteworthy.
Adresse :481 Ridout-St. North
Jun-Sep: noon-5pm; May and Oct-Dec: daily except Tue noon-5pm; rest of year: weekends noon-5pm - closed Mon - donation