Sault Sainte Marie Canal National Historic Site
To bypass the rapids, the North West Company completed the first lock in 1798; destroyed during the War of 1812, it was rebuilt at the end of Huron Street. Nowadays, four locks on the American bank of the river enable millions of tons of goods to pass through every year. In 1998 a new lock was opened to replace the Canadian lock, which had been closed for a number of years; the new lock only handles leisure craft.
Address :1 Canal Dr.
visitor centre end Jun - early Sep: 8.30am-4.30pm; rest of year: daily except weekends 8.30am-4.30pm