Black Creek Pioneer Village
This 12ha/30-acre recreated farming community evokes the traditions and architecture of Ontario's rural past. Opened in 1960, the village comprises 40 buildings, including 5 from the original farm established between 1816 and 1832 by Pennsylvania-German settlers, and a collection of 19C structures moved to the site. Upon leaving the welcome centre, visitors step back in time to mid-19C Ontario. Set among abundant greenery and dirt roads flanked by wooden sidewalks and split-rail fences, the ensemble exudes the charm of a bygone era. The restored buildings are appointed with furnishings characteristic of the 1860s. Highlights include the tinsmith shop; Stong farm; the Half Way House, a spacious white inn with a two-tiered veranda; Roblin's Mill, a handsome four-storey water-powered stone gristmill; and the printing office, complete with a working flatbed press.
Address :1000 Murray-Ross Parkway
Price:17 $ (children 12 $)
Jul-Aug: 10am-5pm, weekends and Bank Hols 11am-5pm; May-Jun: 9.30am-4pm, weekends 11am-5pm; rest of year: 9.30am-4pm, weekends 11am-4.30pm - closed Jan-Apr, 25-26 Dec