Port la Joye-Fort Amherst National Historic Site

The first permanent European settlement on the island was established here by the French in 1720. The British, who captured the area in 1758, erected Fort Amherst, a series of defences on the site of the original French garrison, and occupied the post until 1768. Today only the earthworks remain-rolling, grass-covered mounds from which sweeping view of Charlottetown harbour extend. In the visitor centre, displays and a video presentation (15min) offer an introduction to the site's history.

Useful information

Address : 

191 Rocky-Point

Phone:

+1 902-566-7626

Opening hours

mid Jun-mid Oct: telephone for timetable

Nearby tourist attractions

Province House National Historic Site
Province House National Historic Site
A native of Yorkshire, England, Isaac
2:00
Confederation Centre of the Arts
Confederation Centre of the Arts
Commemorating the centennial of the 1864
St. Dunstan's Basilica
St. Dunstan's Basilica
The stone church visitors see today is a
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

St. Dunstan's Basilica
St. Dunstan's Basilica
The stone church visitors see today is a
0:15
See all