Rue du Petit-Champlain

Interesting
Extending along the foot of the cliff, this cobblestone pedestrian alley was de-veloped in the 1680s. First known as Rue De Meulles, the street was renamed Rue du Petit-Champlain (Little Champlain Street) when the larger Boulevard Champlain, situated parallel to it along the river, was created during the 19C. The early wooden dwellings along the street were inhabited by craftsmen and labourers until the 19C, when Irish immigrants who found work associated with the port moved into the district. Much of the neighbourhood fell into decay in the early 20C as a result of the economic decline of the port, but recent restoration work has transformed the street into a festive district enlivened by restaurants, boutiques and art galleries.

Useful information

Nearby tourist attractions

Louis-Jolliet House
Louis-Jolliet House
Completed in 1683 according to plans by
0:15
Historic Chevalier House
Historic Chevalier House
This imposing stone structure, topped by
1:30
Église Notre-Dame-Des-Victoires
Église Notre-Dame-Des-Victoires
Completed in 1723, this stone edifice
0:15
Place Royale (Québec)
Place Royale (Québec)
Today the heart of Lower Town, this
0:30
Place de Paris
Place de Paris
To keep up with the expansion of Lower
0:15
Place d'Armes de Québec
Place d'Armes de Québec
Located outside the confines of the Fort
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Louis-Jolliet House
Louis-Jolliet House
Completed in 1683 according to plans by
0:15
Église Notre-Dame-Des-Victoires
Église Notre-Dame-Des-Victoires
Completed in 1723, this stone edifice
0:15
Place Royale (Québec)
Place Royale (Québec)
Today the heart of Lower Town, this
0:30
See all