Le Platon

In 1634 the Sieur de Laviolette built his fort on this plateau 35m/115ft above the river. The area's name is derived from the word peloton, meaning "ball of wool." A bust of Laviolette and a plaque were placed here in 1934 to celebrate the city's tricentennial.

Useful information

Address : 

G9A Trois-Rivières

Nearby tourist attractions

Le Flambeau
Le Flambeau
The striking obelisk in the centre of
Rue des Forges
Rue des Forges
Shops and restaurants line this busy
0:15
Boucher de Niverville Manor
Boucher de Niverville Manor
This whitewashed, stone manor house with
1:00
St. James Anglican Church
St. James Anglican Church
The Récollets (reformed Franciscan monks
0:15
Old Prison (Trois-Rivières)
Old Prison (Trois-Rivières)
Linked to the Quebec Museum of Popular
Moulin Michel
Moulin Michel
Erected in 1774, the Moulin Michel
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Le Flambeau
Le Flambeau
The striking obelisk in the centre of
Rue des Forges
Rue des Forges
Shops and restaurants line this busy
0:15
Boucher de Niverville Manor
Boucher de Niverville Manor
This whitewashed, stone manor house with
1:00
See all