Old Prison (Trois-Rivières)

Interesting
Linked to the Quebec Museum of Popular Culture by covered walkway. Designed by François Baillairgé and erected between 1819 and 1822, the imposing stone structure features some of the best surviving examples of Palladianism in Quebec. Note its massive size, three-storey framework, severe portal and wide pediment dominating the central façade, all characteristic of a style that marked the British presence throughout the Colonial Empire. The nine chimney stacks on the roof are evidence of a concern for the prisoners' comfort. The building ceased to function as a prison in 1986. Today it features an interpretation centre; 20 of its cells present different aspects of prison life, such as discipline, hygiene, visitation, etc.

Useful information

Address : 

200 r. Laviollette, G9A 6L5 Trois-Rivières

Phone:

+1 819-372-0406

Price:

10 $

Opening hours

end Jun-1st Mon Sep: 10am-6pm; rest of year: daily except Mon 10am-5pm - closed 31 Dec-2 Jan, 24-26 Dec

Nearby tourist attractions

Boucher de Niverville Manor
Boucher de Niverville Manor
This whitewashed, stone manor house with
1:00
Le Flambeau
Le Flambeau
The striking obelisk in the centre of
St. James Anglican Church
St. James Anglican Church
The Récollets (reformed Franciscan monks
0:15
Le Platon
Le Platon
In 1634 the Sieur de Laviolette built
0:30
Rue des Forges
Rue des Forges
Shops and restaurants line this busy
0:15
Moulin Michel
Moulin Michel
Erected in 1774, the Moulin Michel
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Boucher de Niverville Manor
Boucher de Niverville Manor
This whitewashed, stone manor house with
1:00
St. James Anglican Church
St. James Anglican Church
The Récollets (reformed Franciscan monks
0:15
Sanctuaire Notre-Dame-du-Cap
Sanctuaire Notre-Dame-du-Cap
This legendary shrine and pilgrimage
0:30
See all