This residential chateau was built between 1720 and 1724 by M. D. Pöppelmann, the architect of the prince-electors. A new palace built between 1818 and 1816 after the fire of the old Renaissance chateau adjoins the Wasserpalais and the Bergpalais, the rooms of which are transformed into Dresden Decorative Arts Museum. The park, transformed into an English garden in 1778, is ornamented with a Chinese pavilion and a pond. The island opposite has an bird reserve.
Address :August-Böckstiegel-Straße 2
May-Oct: daily except Mon 10am-6pm; rest of year: weekends 10am-6pm