Right in the middle of the village of Tumpang stand the melancholic ruins of Candi Jago, probably the funerary monument of King Singosari Wisnuwardhana (d 1268). Dedicated to Tantric Buddhism, the sanctuary is made up of three terraces one on top of the other and crowned with a small temple. A magnificent headless statue of the sovereign with the features of the god Amoghapasa (eight arms) presides over the entrance. Like the stone wayang kulit, the sumptuous bas-reliefs on the walls combine Buddhist (Kunjakarna), Hindu (Mahabharata) and Javanese (Angling Dharma) themes.
minibus terminal Arjosari (Malang) - donation