Kodai-ji, a temple founded in 1606 by the widow of a high-ranking nobleman, was partially destroyed by fire. The Kaisan-do pavilion and Otama-ya mortuary chapel, however, bear witness to the former opulence of the shrine. The pavilion is hung with Kano paintings and the chapel sports some remarkable gold-inlaid lacquerware. The site's lovely garden, designed by Kobori Enshu (1597-1647), is conducive to meditation.
Address:604 8571 Kyoto