Kofuku-ji, originally erected in 669 at Uji, south of Kyoto, was transferred to Nara in 710 by the powerful Fujiwara family, to whom it belonged. At its heyday, between the 8C and 12C, this Buddhist temple boasted a total of 175 buildings designed in a pure Japanese style, of which the five-storey pagoda (50m high) remains an elegant example. The Tokon-do houses a statue of a medicine Buddha (1415) whose face is encountered again in the Kokuhokan, now the Treasure Room.
Tokondo Hall: 9am-5pm (last admission 4.45pm); Kokuhokan: 9am-5pm (closed until 31 Dec 2017). Nanen-do: open 1 day a year, 17 Oct. Partially under refurbishment: Central Golden Hall (Chukon-do) reconstructed until 2018, further reconstruction works until 2023