This temple (680) belonging to the Hosso sect is one of the oldest and most sacred in the city. Badly damaged by fire in 973 and again in 1528, Yakushi-ji had to be reconstructed in its entirety, with the exception of the To-to, the East Pagoda. This three-storey structure (34m) looks to have six because of its intermediary canopies. The Kon-do, the main hall (1635), houses a large bronze triad of the Buddha Yakushi which dates from 697 and is highly representative of the naturalist style of the Chinese Tang dynasty. A 7C Sho Kannon of Indian influence is the centrepiece of the Toin-do, or East Pavilion (1285).
partially closed for refurbishment until 2020 - 8.30am-5pm (last admission 4.30pm)