This temple belonging to the Soto Zen school was built in the 13C on the rock face of Mount Rakan above the Atota River. Difficult to reach by foot, a cable-car now takes visitors up in more comfort. A first cave, right at the top, houses over 500 stone Buddha statuettes. Next-door, Sanmon Gate leads to the temple nestled inside a second cave. Burned down in 1943, it was faithfully reconstructed in 1969. The balcony offers a splendid view over the mountain and rice paddies.