Japanese Bridge-Pagoda

Recommended
It was the Japanese, established to the west of the river, who started to build this covered bridge in 1593. The project took three years, from the Year of the Monkey to the Year of the Dog, hence the presence on it of statues of these animals. In 1719, a Chinese mandarin visiting Hoi An gave it the name of Lai Vien Kieu,"The bridge built by men from far away" . Fifty years later, the Chinese decided to erect a pagoda dedicated to Bac De Tran Vu, a highly respected Chinese mandarin.

Useful information

Address:

Bach-Dang Hoi An

Nearby tourist attractions

Hoi An Chinese Houses
Hoi An Chinese Houses
Hoi An
0:15
Historical Centre of Hoi An
Historical Centre of Hoi An
Hoi An
1:30
Tran Family Chapel Tran Family Chapel
Tran Family Chapel
Hoi An
1:30
Museum of Trade Ceramics
Museum of Trade Ceramics
Hoi An
1:30
Hoi An Chinese Assembly Halls  Hoi An Chinese Assembly Halls
Hoi An Chinese Assembly Halls
Hoi An
0:30
Assembly Hall of the Fujian Chinese Congregation or Phuc Kien Pagoda Assembly Hall of the Fujian Chinese Congregation or Phuc Kien Pagoda
Assembly Hall of the Fujian Chinese Congregation or Phuc Kien Pagoda
Hoi An
0:30
See all