This basilica was rebuilt by the Premonstratensians from 1751 to 1756, in order to provide a prestigious setting for "Our Lady of the Four Columns", who had been the object of an ancient pilgrimage, under her marble canopy. It was decorated thanks to the virtuosity of the best Rococo artists of the age. Stucco angels, flowers and foliage abound and twirl around in their cartouches. Vault paintings are dedicated to women: the Virgin Mary in the choir, Esther and Judith in the nave.
See all tourist sites