Stift Schlägl

The abbey founded by Premonstratensians dates from 1218. The church's well-proportioned red and white marble doorway leads into a modestly-sized building, which, however impresses visitors by its very lofty nave, monumental flight of steps leading up into the choir and rich Baroque decor. The cloister has retained its original Gothic style. The abbey has a fine collection of paintings, a rich library, as well as a brewery, a cellar with a restaurant and a seminary centre.

Useful information


Praemonstrateser-Chorherrenstift Schlägl, 4160 Aigen-im-Muhlkreis


+43 7281 88010


7.50 € (children 5 €)

Opening hours

guided tour only - May-Oct: Tue-Sat 10am-noon, 1pm-5pm, Sun11am-5pm