House of Erasmus

Recommended
Built in 1468 and enlarged in 1515, the "Swan" belonged to the Anderlecht Chapter, whose members and illustrious guests lodged here. In 1521, its most famous visitor gave it its current name: Erasmus. Behind its brick walls, the interior evokes the spirit of the "prince of humanists". On the ground floor is the chapterhouse, with a fine Adoration of the Magi by Hieronymous Bosch and the study of Erasmus. The white room upstairs has original works by him including The Praise of Folly.

Useful information

Address:

Rue du Chapitre 31, 1070 Anderlecht

Phone:

+32 2 521 13 83

Price:

1.25 €

Opening hours

daily except Mon 10am-6pm - closed 1 Jan and 25 Dec

Nearby tourist attractions

Collegiate Church of St Peter and St Guidon
Collegiate Church of St Peter and St Guidon
Anderlecht
0:30
Gueuze - Brasserie Cantillon Museum
Gueuze - Brasserie Cantillon Museum
Anderlecht
1:30
Porte de Hal Porte de Hal
Porte de Hal
Bruxelles
1:00
Les Marolles Les Marolles
Les Marolles
Bruxelles
1:00
Place du Jeu-de-balle Place du Jeu-de-balle
Place du Jeu-de-balle
Bruxelles
0:15
Notre-Dame-de-la-Chapelle Church Notre-Dame-de-la-Chapelle Church
Notre-Dame-de-la-Chapelle Church
Bruxelles
0:15
See all tourist sites