Basilique du Saint-Sang

Interesting
According to legend, the Basilica of the Holy Blood was built to house the relic of the Blood of Christ brought from the Holy Land after the second crusade. The Romanesque lower chapel, or St Basil's chapel, dates from the 12C. Initially Romanesque, the Chapel of the Holy Blood was transformed in the 15C. You will notice the fine pulpit of truth, dating back to 1728. A museum contains the reliquary of the Holy Blood (1617) where the relic is placed during procession.

Useful information

Address:

Burg 10, 8000 Brugge

Price:

free of charge

Opening hours

visit of lower and higher chapels: 9.30am-noon (11am Sun), 2pm‑5pm (except Wed afternoon Nov-Mar) - closed during offices.

Nearby tourist attractions

Stadhuis (Town Hall) Stadhuis (Town Hall)
Stadhuis (Town Hall)
Brugge
0:15
Musée du Franc de Bruges / Bruggemuseum - Brugse Vrije Musée du Franc de Bruges / Bruggemuseum - Brugse Vrije
Musée du Franc de Bruges / Bruggemuseum - Brugse Vrije
Brugge
Burg Square Burg Square
Burg Square
Brugge
0:30
Paleis van het Brugse Vrije Paleis van het Brugse Vrije
Paleis van het Brugse Vrije
Brugge
0:15
Markt Markt
Markt
Brugge
0:30
Huidenvettersplein (Tanners' Square)
Huidenvettersplein (Tanners' Square)
Brugge
0:15
See all