Neo-Classical in style (arcades, pediments and colonnades), this complex was built from 1816 to 1835 for Henri de Gorge, who had bought the concession to work the coal mines. It consists of 435 workers' houses, workshops, warehouses etc. It ceased to operate in 1954, but was revitalised in 1971 by Hornu architect Henri Guchez. Since 2002, it has been home to the prestigious MAC (Museum of Contemporary Art), which has a collection of international importance encompassing a wide range of genres.
Address:r. Ste-Louise 82, 7301 Hornu
Innovation and design centre (CID) - www.grand-hornu.be. Museum of Contemporary Art MAC's - [TEL] 065 65 21 21 - www.mac-s.be - 10am-6pm - closed Mon, 1 Jan, 25 Dec - €8 combo ticket CID/MAC's (no charge 1st Sun of every month)