Town hall and belfry of Charleroi
The Town Hall and its 70m belfry, a UNESCO World Heritage site, were designed by J André and J Cézar and built in 1936. The highlight of the visit is the Council Chamber, with its gigantic Val-St-Lambert crystal chandeliers, stained-glass windows and series of seven panels painted by Jos de Smedt. The Jules Destrée Museum in the attics retraces the many facets of this Socialist politician, statesman, lawyer and writer.
Address:pl. Charles-1er, 6000 Charleroi
town hall: self-guided or guided tour - belfry: tours by prior arrangement - [TEL] 071 86 14 14 Visitor centre