Citadel

Interesting
The first castle, from 1051, was rebuilt by the Bishop of Liège in 1523, then destroyed by the French in 1703. Its present appearance dates from the Dutch occupation (1818-1821). The citadel was turned into a museum, with reconstructions, dioramas, miscellaneous items and a small weapons collection recalling the main events of its history and that of the town. The walls, 100m above the Meuse, offer a view of the town, the collegiate church and Meuse Valley.

Useful information

Address:

Route de Sorinnes, 5500 Dinant

Phone:

+32 82 22 36 70

Price:

8.50 € (-12 years old 6 €)

Opening hours

Apr-Sep: 10am-6pm; Oct-mid Nov: 10am-5.30pm; mid Nov-Mar daily except Fri 10am-4.30pm (cable car weekends only except school hols); Jan: weekends 10am-4.30pm - guided tour (recommended) daily Apr-Sep and weekends only and Bank Hols rest of year - closed 1 Jan and 25 Dec

Nearby tourist attractions

Dinant Collegiate Church of Our Lady (Collégiale Notre-Dame) Dinant Collegiate Church of Our Lady (Collégiale Notre-Dame)
Dinant Collegiate Church of Our Lady (Collégiale Notre-Dame)
Dinant
0:15
Grotte la Merveilleuse
Grotte la Merveilleuse
Dinant
1:00
St Lambert Church
St Lambert Church
Bouvignes
0:15
Spanish House of Bouvignes
Spanish House of Bouvignes
Bouvignes-sur-Meuse
0:15
Château de Crèvecoeur viewpoint
Château de Crèvecoeur viewpoint
Bouvignes-sur-Meuse
1:00
Rocher Bayard Rocher Bayard
Rocher Bayard
Dinant
0:30
See all